Cerrado del dia solo la Luna

linq: El Sol Y La Luna, Austin

The problem with playing competitive sports against oneself, really, is that it is easy to lob oneself a softball, particularly in Early Innings. This being, as it were, still prior to the halfway point of the game, or some equally tortured sports metaphor, we have lobbed fat ones across the plate with our early selections.

Maybe I should avoid baseball references. Perhaps they are impolitic, this being March.

El Sol Y La Luna on 6th is an establishment with which I am familiar, my having eaten there on more than one occasion. The difficulty, really, is approaching it with fresh eyes, even as I go there yet again, trying to think of something interesting to say about it. How about this: the food is good, and the place has a nice feel to it.

That’s easy. Maybe it’s too easy. Maybe you want more than that. I can respect that. I mean, you pay your dime, you take your turn, and at the end of the day, you hope you have an idea whether you want to eat at a place or not, right?

OK, well, El Sol Y La Luna is a place where you can get tasty food. The menu is not particularly challenging, containing as it does only tried and tasty items which are quite up front on their contents. The enchiladas are tasty. The tamales are fine and dandy. The soup is soup. I’ve been fond of the “Healthy Lunch” for some time, even before I decided I needed to watch my diet, which is my current, arguably unfortunate, state. The Lunch is a simple arrangement of avocado, chicken, beans and vegetables that will satisfy admirably while being as relatively healthy as one can order without having to be pretentious and asking for a Salad with No Fun Stuff On.

You don’t want salad. I respect that. I don’t like asking for salad anywhere but Kerbey, and there only because they will bring me a bowl of raw spinach without too much fuss. I love spinach, and I am unashamed of the fact, but it remains beside the point.

The point is, simply, that for a place which has proved thus far devoid of pie, El Sol Y La Luna nonetheless acquits itself toothsomely.

Four Chips Up, Two Left