A Facelift, New Digs, Still a Place You Should Go

linq: The Frisco

My first experience with the Frisco was several years ago. I was involved in a theater production at a little theater place next door, and between acts we would sneak over and buy sodas, and sneak them backstage. The Frisco’s building is now yet another pharmacy, of the type found by the dozens in almost every city across the country. When I saw that the place was closing, I was glad that I had started attending semi-irregularly, and had wrung as much joy out of it as I had. Naturally, there are those who have derived decades more than I had, but I did not feel cheated, just that I wished they would open up in a larger place, maybe a mile up the road.

Imagine my surprise, then, when they filled the hole that Curras left, right up the street.

The place is the same, relatively, although they had a little rough patch just after they opened. The fare is fine, and they will bring you chopped steak and boiled vegetables on a plate. I mean, that’s why you go there, right? You want chopped steak or a fine burger, or, if you’re awake early, something to break fast, you head on in and enjoy the comfort of the new place.

No, to be honest. That’s not why you go, and we both know it. Do I have to enumerate the wonders? Let me name just two. They are Strawberry and Icebox Chocolate. The whipped cream is an inch thick and the filling is creamy and wonderful. Words being worth, as they are, one one-thousandth of a picture, I will save you the trouble and let James (of whom I am the Dad, as per my nom de écran) explain.

The point, as it so often is, is pie.

One daily vegetable special that we’re out of, of eight daily vegetable specials.